I was able to find a writing prompt book for my Kindle that holds a lot of promise for keeping the creative juices stoked. When spring weather comes, it’s a prelude to summer which is when I generally have more time to put more words down on paper or on my computer screen. It’s my favorite time of year. So, you’re probably asking where’s the prompt. And I would say to you, right here.

“One of the best parts of summer is going to see a big blockbuster movie on the big screen at the theater. What kind of movies do you enjoy and why? What movie snacks would you eat during the most exciting moments of the movie?

I have so many memories of going to see big blockbuster movies as a child. When I was a child, the movie premieres tended to be around the Memorial Day Weekend. I remember specifically being at the premiere showing of the first Star Wars movie on May 25, 1977. I was fascinated by the commercials for Star Wars, and as an 11-year old girl, I was particularly fascinated by watching a girl go on an adventure. My favorite television shows at this time were shows like The Bionic Woman, Wonder Woman, and Star Trek, and I was so excited to see Star Wars. It didn’t disappointment me at all, and it was at that time I realized I was different from the other examples of women I was seeing in my daily life. My interest in these shows poured over into my reading and writing, and helped form me into the kind of person I am today. The words geek and nerd were not words that girls wanted to be called back then. They were considered derogatory, and if people considered you a geek, you didn’t fit in real well. That was hard as a teenager. It’s not hard anymore for me though. As I told someone at church last night after a discussion of how his daughter liked Captain America and Iron Man, I wear the title of geek proudly. He said his family wore it proudly too.

Fast forward to today. In the last few years, I have seen such movies as all the movies in the Hunger Games franchise, Divergent, Captain America 1 and 2, Thor 1 and 2, Iron Man 1,2, and 3, and the first Avengers movie. I am also a big fan of The Flash, The Arrow, and Agents of SHIELD on television. I have watched all of these shows with my husband and sons, and they are something we have been able to enjoy together. I am looking forward to the premiere of the second Avengers movie at the beginning of May. It is a special weekend for my family. Not only will Avengers: Age of Ultron premiere, we will also celebrate my older son finishing his senior year at our church on that Sunday. So, as you can imagine, I am doing a lot of reflecting in the time leading up to the premiere. Going to see this movie and seeing my son and his friends honored will be one of the highlights of this year. At the movie, I will enjoy popcorn and soda and sit on the edge of my seat. I will also reflect on the strong and confident woman I’ve become by acknowledging who I am and not falling into what society wants to make me.

Hope everyone has a wonderful day!

