There are two parts to this word. Per Wikipedia here is the definition.

“Endurance is the ability of an organism to exert itself and remain active for a long period of time, as well as its ability to resist, withstand, recover from, and have immunity to trauma, wounds, or fatigue. Endurance may also refer to an ability to keep going through a tough situation involving hardship, stress, etc.”

I am referring more to the second part of the definition than the first though the first will come into play. There are people who come into this world with raw talent. They advance through school quickly and do especially well with the talents God has blessed them with. But, sometimes raw talent is not enough. If things have always come easily for them, there would seem to be no reason to have to work at their talent, to keep going when things aren’t going so well.

This is where endurance comes in. With me, endurance comes into play with all facets of my life, my writing as well as my faith. I read this quote by author James Baldwin earlier. 

“Beyond talent lies all the usual words: discipline, love, luck, but, most of all endurance.”

I find this to be very true. If I’m not willing to keep going when the times are bad, I will not be ready for the good times. My main goal for my writing is to touch lives. Whether that means I get published in some form or fashion or just touch lives through this blog, I need to be willing to keep going even when it seems like I’m not touching anyone. 

I find this to be even more true with my faith. There are so many verses in the Bible about endurance that are an encouragement to me. Here is one example from I Chronicles 16:34.

“Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever.”

Another one is 2 Timothy 4:7.

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”

This particular verse represents the first part of the definition of endurance to me. Not only will we be blessed by God if we can emotionally endure, we are blessed with good health if we physically endure our exercise. So, here’s to enduring even when we don’t want to.

Hope everyone has a great day! 

