Yes, I know. Nowadays, we don’t expect to have blessings. We actually expect life to be hard with prices continually rising with no corresponding increase in income. Even Christians aren’t immune to these kind of feelings, especially with all of the stock put in some people who claim to be Christians and claim that God is waiting to bless each and all of us materially. That is not what God wants for us. God wants us to be content with what we have as stated in Philippians 4:11-13.  The Apostle Paul is speaking here. “I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content in any circumstance. I have experienced times of need and times of abundance. In any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of contentment, whether I go satisfied or hungry, have plenty or nothing. I am able to do all things through the one who strengthens me.”

But, just because God wants us to be content doesn’t mean He doesn’t want to bless His children. I have had two small unexpected blessings in the last two days. Yesterday afternoon, I got a message that someone from my church needed me to contact them. Now, my first thought was, I’m ashamed to say, ‘I bet the check for the kids’ trip this weekend was lost.’ I called a little while later, and it wasn’t that at all. The person wanted to donate balloons for the balloon release I’m having this weekend for Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Month.  I was so touched. There are several women in our church who have lost babies, and I wanted to organize a time of remembrance. I had been prepared to cover the cost myself, but I won’t need to now. Praise God! 

The other unexpected blessing happened this morning. I was checking our power company account to see if the bill for this month had come out yet. It had, and I looked at the screen in astonishment. It was $50 lower than last month. I started cheering and dancing because a $50 decrease in a bill is always something to celebrate. My 16 year old son came in and wanted to know why I was acting so crazy. I told him, and he said, “I guess you get a pass this time. That is something to celebrate.” I thanked him, and he went back out. After he left, I thought to myself, ‘Wow, God is waiting to bless us, and sometimes through our worry, we just can’t see it.’ I vowed to myself then and there I would be more conscious about noticing the unexpected blessings in my life.

Hope everyone has a great weekend! 

