Here’s the prompt for today.

Write a list of ways to nurture your writing.

When I was thinking of what I could write down for this prompt, I thought of all the different things I had done over this past year to nurture my writing. Some of them are fairly obvious while others might not be so obvious. The first one is to actually carve out time to write. There are so many things that could prevent me from writing, but when I commit to a specific time to write, I always seem to get more words written. 

The second thing is to read, read, read. And then read some more. Read in the genre you want to write in. Read other kinds of books too so you will be saturated in language. Then when you want to write, the words will come easier. 

Being observant would be another way to nurture your writing. Every time you have to wait somewhere, have a small notepad where you can jot down notes and observations about the people around you. You never know. Your next main character could have the same description as someone you were in line with. 

And finally, take the time to have a variety of experiences. Every experience you have that is different than what you have done before is another experience you can bring to your writing. And it can make your writing more varied and interesting. 

Hope everyone has a great weekend! 

