In my quest to learn more about writing, I have followed several authors over the past few years and have learned a great deal. One of them has just come out with a book that has an intriguing premise. I’ve not read it yet, but probably will at some point so I’m not going to mention the title. The premise is intriguing enough though that I decided to think about what this actually meant in my life. Now, you’re waiting for me to mention what it is. Well, it talks about how we are usually waiting for the next big thing to happen to us. In the cycle of life, there are several moments that qualify like graduating from high school, graduating from college, getting a first job, getting married, having a first child, going on vacation, having the last child leave the nest, etc., etc. You get the picture. 

There are a lot of ordinary moments in life though. In my life, some of those might include: getting hugs from my kids when they get up in the morning, having them ask me to watch a baseball game with them, baking loaves of bread, going out for Friday night dinners with the family, enjoying the scenery around me when I walk in the mornings, having the chance to write words on a page with the hope they will encourage someone, and having the chance to develop relationships. 

Now, that doesn’t mean it’s wrong to look forward to the big moments. But, when the big moments become so much of a focus that you forget the ordinary ones, I believe life is somehow diminished, and it’s not how I believe we were meant to live. With the ages my kids are at now, I have come to realize there is not a lot of time left for me to enjoy the ordinary moments with them, and my resolve today is to spend more time enjoying the ordinary moments.

Hope everyone has a great day! 

