I have struggled with this my entire life, some years since becoming an adult being better than others. My most prominent memories of being a teenager were the criticism of not being the same size as other females in my family. But that would be a whole other post, in and of itself. What I want to focus on is what happened to me yesterday.

I had the most amazing experience. My husband had dared me to go into Nordstrom Rack to see if I could find any cute outfits. I had been avoiding it because of the negative connotation with a family member, but yesterday, I decided to take him up on his challenge.

I walked into the store and started looking at clothes. I saw clothes that were not my size, clothes I would never dream of putting on, and clothes, that even if they would fit, I wouldn’t have paid the amount of money they wanted to charge for them. As I stared at the clothes, I felt barriers breaking down in my mind. It was okay! I didn’t need to have clothes from a fancy store. The clothes I buy from Target, from JC Penney, from Kohl’s are okay for me. What is inside is much more important than my appearance! How I treat others, how I show God to others is much more important! I was filled with overwhelming pity for the girls and women in the store and with disgust for what society has done to perpetuate this image to girls and women. I was almost tempted to start asking people what the value of half-tops and leather shorts were, but I decided the possibility of getting arrested wasn’t worth it. 🙂

Instead, I went to Target and found a couple of t-shirts and a pair of blue jean cropped pants. Spent just over $30. They were cute clothes, but not indecent, and I didn’t pay a fortune. We, who are women, don’t need to buy into the image society has for us. We are valuable just because of who we are, and if you are a believer, in God’s eyes as well. 

Hope everyone has a wonderful day! 

