I struggled and struggled with what to write this morning, but then realized I had a topic right in front of me. What is friendship? Wikipedia defines it as “a relationship of mutual affection between two or more people.” It also names a number of characteristics of friendship which I would concur with. Some of these include: sympathy, honesty, empathy, altruism, mutual understanding and compassion, enjoyment of each other’s company, trust, and several more. But, have you thought of some of the reasons for friendship? There are some people I call friends for different reasons. I know them from a particular place or a particular part of life. Some of them are more distant, and there are those who I would consider closer friends. 

Why am I writing about this today? Well, we found out that the wife of a friend of my father-in-law passed away this week. This couple was like a second set of parents to my husband growing up, and the news saddened us. My father-in-law and this man served together in the Air Force, and they truly had a bond like brothers. They would do anything for each other. Even when my father-in-law passed away many years ago, this man was a friend to my mother-in-law helping her with chores around her home and taking her to doctor visits. He was and is the example of a true friend. I will never forget what he did for us the day before my mother-in-law passed away. My husband had taken her to the ER because her blood sugar had spiked. We thought they would keep her, but told him she just had an infection which caused the spike. He brought her home at 10:30 at night. I went outside to help, but she was unable to walk, and there was no way the two of us could have lifted her. We called this man at 10:30 at night to ask if he could help. He came over, no questions asked, and the three of us were able to get her into the house. It was the truest example of friendship I had ever seen and will be something we will always be grateful for. I would wish that kind of friendship for all of us.

Hope everyone has a great weekend! 

