I read this quote by E. L. Doctorow yesterday and was immediately struck by how similar it was to my faith.

“Writing a novel is like driving a car at night. You can only see as far as your headlights but you can make the whole trip that way.” 

Driving a car at night using headlights is commonplace. We have faith that the headlights will work and help us see to get to our destination. With other parts of our lives, we have a need though to see the complete picture even before we get to that point. We think about retirement when we’re in our twenties; we think about what it’s going to be like when we die; we think about publishing our novel before it’s good enough to be published. 

For me, I think this is a need we have to control things. If we can control things, we can make it so nothing bad happens to us. But, it’s not possible. And the reason it’s not possible is because we live in an imperfect place. It is not possible for any of us to be perfect no matter how much we try, no matter how much other people want us to be. So, as writers, we will get rejections. As people of faith, bad things will happen to us. It’s what you do with getting those rejections; it’s what you do with those storms that makes you the kind of person you are.  I want to keep moving forward, to keep moving as far as I can see, to have faith I will accomplish what God wants me to accomplish. And to have joy in my heart while I’m doing so. 

Hope everyone has a wonderful day!

