When I was a child, there were very few times I was caught without a book. Books were my passion. They took me to worlds vastly different from my own and were an escape from my own world. I could use my imagination to pretend like I was any one of the heroes or heroines in those books–someone who traveled to different places and was able to solve mysteries, escape from bad situations, fly on spaceships, and help other people. 

So, what were some of my favorite childhood books? I enjoyed reading a lot of the series books that were popular in the 1970’s. These included such series as Nancy Drew, The Bobbsey Twins, and The Hardy Boys. As I got older, I began liking authors such as Andre Norton, Peter David, Orson Scott Card, and Terry Brooks. There were other authors who wrote the Star Trek tie-in books that I also enjoyed. I think I began liking the science fiction and fantasy genres more at this point because their worlds were so different and because it was not expected that girls would like these books, at least in my corner of the world. For me though, I liked them because women made a positive contribution and were not in a traditional role. 

What were some of your favorite childhood books or authors? 

