This was the title of my reading in my writing inspiration book this morning, and I liked it so much I’m co-opting it. Of course, it was talking about how writing can be like looking for things in the dark sometimes. I can easily see that. There are days that the words will not come, or at least, they don’t make sense. And I would be lying if I said I wanted to write gibberish. I would like the words to at least make some sort of sense when I first write them down though I know I’ll get the chance to clean them up during the editing process.

There’s also another reason the phrase ‘looking for something in the dark’ appeals to me this morning. This is because it resonates with my faith. There are many times that things don’t make sense to me. I don’t know what I’m supposed to do, or how I’m supposed to react because things are dark. I can’t see any light in the situation. I only see darkness and pain. I have felt this way many times as an adult through sickness, through rejection, through pain, through financial difficulties, through the deaths of relatives and friends, through any bad thing you could think of. What I’ve learned this past year though is that God is with me, always, even in the darkness. I pray, and He is there. I ask for something to hold onto, and He is there. Now, you might wonder how that works since you can’t see God. Well, for me, it has worked, because people have been the hands and feet of God to me. They have cried with me and rejoiced with me. They have been real and have let me be real. I believe that is what true Christian faith is supposed to be with the community that God has always wanted for His people. 

And when you find the thing in the dark you’re looking for, whether you are writing or whether your faith is being strengthened, I believe a beam of light cuts across the swath of darkness, and there’s a reassurance that things are where they’re supposed to be.

Hope everyone has a great day! 

