Now, you probably think I’m about to give you some dime store secret to being content. Or maybe some device or book that is sold on TV which will give you all the answers you need to being content. No, nothing like that. Of course, that would be an easy answer. And I’m not into things being easy, by any means. 

So, how am I going to address this? Well, if you’ve read this blog for awhile, you know about the switch I’ve made to talking about my faith and how it relates to my writing. Now, you’re thinking, ‘There she goes. She’s going to give religion as an easy answer.’ But, I’m not. It’s not an easy answer. It’s an answer you have to be willing to work through. Just because I’m a Christian doesn’t mean bad things don’t happen to me. It doesn’t mean I don’t worry; it doesn’t mean I’m never sick; it doesn’t mean I never have problems. What being a Christian means though is that God is with me through all my problems. And God is willing to help me, if I’m willing to accept His help. Does that mean He’ll solve the problem? Sometimes it does. Sometimes though it means He’s teaching me something like he’s doing today. 

And that is the main point of this post. A lot of the problem I have in dealing with this world is being worried and anxious about the future. I know God doesn’t want that for me, but it still inches its way in there sometimes. So, what do I do about it? What is the best way for someone of faith to banish those thoughts from your head? Meditating on Scripture is the best answer I’ve come up with. I’m going to list the Scriptures I’ve found and then quote them in order. Matthew 6:34, Luke 12:22-23, Philippians 4:6, John 14:27, Proverbs 3:5-6, and Matthew 6:27. There are many more, but I’m just going to work on these today.

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

“Then Jesus said to his disciples: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. For life is more than food, and the body more than clothes.”

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.”

“Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?”

The last verse I quoted really says it all, doesn’t it? Keeping that in mind is my goal today, and the secret, I believe, to being content. I wish you all a wonderful day. 

 

