I know this is a question asked frequently, but since I haven’t posted my take on it, that’s what you’re getting today. 🙂  

Here is the definition from Wikipedia. “the basic ability to perceive, understand, and judge things which is shared by (‘common to’) nearly all people and can be reasonably expected of nearly all people without any need for debate.”

I don’t know about you, but when I was growing up, there were many things that were considered to be common sense. Some examples would be: letting someone into a lane of traffic without making vulgar signs with your hand, not shoving your way to the head of a line, not playing music loudly in a car, and so forth and so on. 

So, why don’t we have common sense anymore? I have a pretty good idea. Society has gotten more and more to the point where people are only focused on themselves and don’t care about what anyone else thinks. There is no sense of community because everyone looks out for number one. It’s sad because no one thinks they can count on anyone else. Because they are only looking out for themselves, there is not an incentive to look out for or take care of anyone else. Is there any way to change that focus? I think the most likely way would be to get rid of the self-focus in our society and care about other people. Is there a chance of that happening anytime soon? Well, it only has to start with one person. I think I’ll work on that myself today. How about you?

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

