I’ve already done this one time, but wanted to do it again because the person I want to write about is about to have a birthday, and I want him to know what he means to me.

Here’s the prompt: 

   Write about a teacher or mentor who changed your life, for either good or bad.

In the last four years, a lot has happened to my family. It started with the death of my mother-in-law and then proceeded to every other bad thing you could possibly think of. It has only been in the last year that things have improved, and I can honestly say we are in a better place now. 

All of these bad things affected other members of my family except for the last thing which was my miscarriage. I did what most other women would do under these circumstances. I took care of everyone else before I took care of myself, even after my miscarriage. It is a natural instinct to do so, but it can be to one’s detriment as it ended up being with me. I realized I needed help, someone to talk to, someone who was not directly affected by my situation. I approached this person, and we began talking. I cannot tell you what it meant to release some of the pent-up frustration I had been feeling. He also encouraged me to journal as he knew I was a writer. That was the thing that helped most of all–seeing my feelings, my thoughts down on paper–and actually learning for the first time it was okay to take care of myself; that my value and my worth to God were paramount. He encouraged me and pushed me to do the work necessary to get through what I was feeling. He would say I had done most of the work, and I have, but his encouragement has meant the world to me, and I wanted him to know it.

How do you say thank you for something like that? Well, there are typical things people do when they want to say thank you. They give money; they buy presents; they write notes; or they say it in person. Since I’m not typical though and since I write, I thought I would do it this way. I’m not going to identify this person, but I’m pretty sure he knows who he is, so here goes.

Thank you for your friendship, your wisdom, your guidance, and especially for being my brother in Christ. You will never know how much your help has meant to me. Philippians 1:3-5 says, “I thank my God in all my remembrance of you, always offering prayer with joy in my every prayer for you all, in view of your participation in the gospel from the first day until now.” I think that sums it up. 

Thank you again, and I hope you have a wonderful birthday! 

 

