Earlier this year, I wrote a post about how as a writer, I always wanted to stay willing to grow and learn. I believe this can apply to all areas of my life including my faith. Colossians 1:10 and 13-14 demonstrates this concept well. 

“All the while, you will grow as you learn to know God better and better….For he has rescued us from the kingdom of darkness and transferred us into the Kingdom of his dear son, who purchased our freedom and forgave our sins.”

God doesn’t expect our knowledge of Him to stay static. He wants us to know Him, to have that close relationship in community with Him. How do we do that if we don’t spend time with Him in prayer or in study of His Scriptures? We can’t, and if we aren’t willing to, what does that say about our faith? Do we really have any? I’m not qualified to make that judgment for others so I won’t.

I just know that this past year has been a remarkable time of growth for me in my faith because I have chosen to take steps to have a deeper relationship with God. There isn’t an exact way to do that though. Each person is different so each relationship with God is different. Because I have taken the time to figure out my best way of talking to God and keeping my mind focused on Him, I find that my relationship with Him is like that of a friend, a friend you can talk to, a friend who is always there.

People get hung up on this part. They think they have to spend hours on their knees praying to have a relationship with God, and that’s not true. While there is a place for longer times of prayer, God just wants us to talk to Him and let Him talk to us. We can do that in our every day lives as we go from place to place. It takes a mind-set of being focused though and wanting to have that relationship. 

Hope everyone has a wonderful day!

