Perfection is an ideal that everyone in our society strives towards, but is it a realistic ideal? Of course, it’s not. At some point in a person’s life, they are going to make a mistake. And all of us have some kind of flaw since we are only human. Some flaws are just more visible than other flaws. So, if perfection can never be reached, why do we strive towards it? Why does the media publish pictures of airbrushed celebrities? Why are people so unwilling to interact with people who are different from them and whose flaws are more apparent?¬†

I have some ideas about that. I believe that people are programmed from birth to avoid showing their imperfections. Parents are prouder of the child who keeps a perfect average in school than of the child who is kind and loving to others. If they have a daughter, they are prouder of her meeting society’s ideal of womanhood than of her being intelligent and smart. If they have a son, they are prouder of him being the sports star than of him working and being part of a team. This is a sad thing when parents can’t accept their children for who they are instead of who they might want them to be. And if it is carried far enough, it can be damaging to the parent/child relationship and to the child’s self-worth. I know this because it happened to me.

I know now though it is not necessary for me to be perfect. There was only one perfect person on this planet ever, and that is my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. He wants us to love people, no matter what their flaws and to share His love with them too. It took me a long time to realize this–that I didn’t need to meet some sort of impossible standard so I could receive His love. I am so grateful for the people in my life who have taught me that it is not necessary to be perfect, that I am okay just the way I am.

Hope everyone has a wonderful day!

