This was brought to the forefront for me earlier when I was reading about being specific when you name things in your writing. I guess I knew this to an extent, but had not put a whole lot of thought into it. It makes sense though. If you talk about animals going through a forest, won’t the picture be clearer if you are naming the trees they are passing? Seeing the word forest brings an image to my mind, but it’s not a clear image. But, if I see the words oak tree or pine tree or cedar tree or elm tree or any number of a variety of other trees, the images will be clearer. 

And it works the same way with other things. People can get into the world of a book faster if the world is well-developed, and it takes thinking of the details of your particular world to do that. It also makes you a better writer because you are being specific.

Eve Ensler had valuable things to say about this topic. “I believe in the power and mystery of naming things. Language has the capacity to transform our cells, rearrange our learned patterns of behavior, and redirect our thinking. I believe in naming what’s right in front of us because that is often what is most invisible.” I consider this to be valuable advice.

Hope everyone has a wonderful day!

