It’s interesting that a lot of younger people don’t want to listen to the insights of older people nowadays. Even though I’m still raising children in my late 40’s and not done with the world yet by any means, I know I’m a different person than I was in my 20’s. Why don’t people listen to each other, I wonder? Is it because younger people haven’t had life experiences and think that older people don’t know what they’re talking about? Or is it because older people assume an attitude of superiority and think the way they did everything is always the right way? Or, sadly, is it because of the throwaway society we are now a part of? I think it is elements of all three. Some older people are inflexible and are unwilling to try new things while younger people can be just as inflexible and have to learn things the hard way.

Why, you ask, is this a topic I choose to approach this morning? I was thinking of how long I had been away from God before coming back to Him in the past year. How long it had been since I had really thought of what He meant to me. Yes, in the years I was away from the church, I said I still had my faith. But it was not the true relationship with God that was possible. Part of me regrets that now, the missed opportunities. But, I also believe that God allowed me to go through the wilderness because He wanted me to figure out that church was not an institution, that what he desired for believers was a community. A place where church was not just a building or a place you went on Sunday–a living church so to speak. I have found a place where that happens now with the church we go to. And it has enriched my own personal walk with God. 

So, the life experience I have gained through this journey was important, especially to my faith. My hope now though is that while my faith is on solid ground, I remain flexible to new experiences, to new ways of doing things, and to carry that through to my writing and to my life. 

Hope everyone has a wonderful day! 

