In our fast paced ADHD society, this is a word that doesn’t have a lot of respect nowadays. Don’t like your job. Find another one. Don’t like where you live. There are other places to live. Your marriage isn’t working anymore. Get a divorce. Now, I’m not saying there aren’t valid reasons for doing any of those things. But, what I think is that people aren’t willing to be committed through the bad times anymore. When everything is good, it’s easy to show commitment, but when things aren’t so good, it’s easier to switch your focus to something else. 

Now, why do I bring this up today? Well, today is my nineteenth wedding anniversary. When I was mentioning this day would be this week to people at church on Sunday, all of them said to a fault how rare a marriage of this length was today. And I agree, it is rare. But, when I said my vows nineteen years ago, I meant them. Has it been easy? No, most definitely not! But, my husband and I made a commitment to each other which we have honored, and we have built a family and a life on that commitment.

The same could be said for writing. It takes commitment to put the words together, to make them the best they can be. Maybe what I need to do is make the same commitment to putting the words down as I have to my marriage.

Hope everyone has a wonderful day!

