Last week I read an entry in my writing inspiration book entitled The Authority of the Author. I believe the person who wrote it meant to encourage the writer to take ownership of his or her stories. It got me to thinking though especially with what Sam Keen had to say. “Whoever authors your story authorizes your actions.”

So, who does author my story? That’s an easy answer. God authors my story! He gives me the words to write and has given me this talent to put the words together in such a way that they touch people. There are many instances in the Old and New Testaments where stories are told to more clearly explain the concepts God is trying to convey. We, as human beings, relate strongly to the concept of story which is why I think the Bible is written this way. Now, does that mean the stories in the Bible are just stories and not true? Some people say yes, and that is why they don’t believe. I, however, say no. Of course, that comes from having faith and believing, especially in the power of story. 

There are several references in the Old and New Testaments that directly reference stories. Here are just a few. Mark 4:2 says, “Jesus used stories to teach them many things. One of his lessons included this story.” From Mark 4:13, “Then Jesus said to the followers, ‘Do you understand this story? If you don’t, how will you understand any story?'” And from the Old Testament, Psalm 78: 1-4, “O my people, listen to my instructions. Open your ears to what I am saying, for I will speak to you in a parable. I will teach you hidden lessons from our past–stories we have heard and known, stories our ancestors handed down to us. We will not hide these truths from our children; we will tell the next generation about the glorious deeds of the Lord about his power and his mighty wonders.”

I say all this to be clear on why I state that God is the author of my story. Taking a clear stand on my faith is something I thought I would never do, but I’ve really come to believe that just because I say that God is the author of my story, it doesn’t mean that I’m going to be political or contentious. It just means that I’m stating what I believe. I give God the glory and the honor for my gifts and my talents.

Have a wonderful day!

