Well, I haven’t had my computer for a week so I wasn’t able to post. Here is a review I had completed before my computer broke down.

This is the second book of the trilogy in which I read and reviewed the first and third books a few months back. I thought it was excellent as well. Along with the other books, this book also proposes an alternate history for several people who are well-known in history such as Sir Richard Francis Burton, Algernon Charles Swinburne, Herbert Spencer, Charles Babbage, Isabella Mayson, and others.

It takes place in London and the surrounding countryside. At the beginning, Burton and Swinburne are at the Royal Geographical Society where Burton has managed to disgrace himself because of his drinking. They leave from there and are almost immediately launched into the main plotline of the book when they come upon some constables in the street who have found a clockwork man. Burton determines the man is a decoy for a robbery in progress, and the men begin trying to figure out what is going on. The action continues throughout the book, and there are connections to the first book woven throughout.

I was fascinated by the descriptions of the towns around London. I also appreciated the elaborate world building that Mr. Hodder (the author) does with all of his books. Reading these first three books has been such a great experience for me that I plan to get the next Burton and Swinburne book when it comes out in July.  As with the other books in the first trilogy, if you are a fan of steampunk or alternate history, I would wholeheartedly recommend this one.

