Two simple little words, but how often do we really say it and mean it. I know all of us have people in our lives who are important to us now and have been important to us in the past. But, have you made a point of saying thank you lately? No, I didn’t think so.

I thought of this today when I was reading a post on another site about people who were cruel and sat in judgment of someone’s family when that family did everything they could to serve them. (It was a pastor’s wife) Now, why do people do that? Sometimes, I just have to shake my head, but then I realized I know why. It’s because all of us are self-focused. Focused on what we can get for ourselves and not what we can do for others. Focused on the shields we put up to pretend that we are someone we are not. God doesn’t want us to be like this as Paul writes in Ephesians 1:16.

“I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers.”

Paul was writing to the Christians in Ephesus, but I believe you could take it one step further and apply it to everyone in your life, regardless of their faith. So, that’s what I’m going to do today. I know I will forget someone, and I apologize in advance, but these are the people I feel led to give thanks for today. First, my homeschool friends on Facebook and HSR. Even though we will probably not meet until we are in heaven, you bring laughter and love to my life. Second, my Crossbridge family. I am so grateful for this community of believers I am now a part of and for the ways they help me to see God in everything. Third, all of the people in the writing community I have met (either online or in person) over the past few years. You have taught me so much about writing and about caring for people. And finally, to the people who mean more to me than anything, my husband and sons. I love you more than life itself. You keep me grounded, but encourage me to reach for the stars. Thank you.

Here’s to saying thank you to the people in your life today.

