I read this quote by William Faulkner this morning in my writing inspiration book, and it spoke to some of the thoughts and feelings I have had about writing recently.

“A writer needs three things: experience, observation, and imagination, any two of which, at times, any one of which, can supply the lack of the others.”

Each of us has the ability to observe and imagine, and I would also add to that, the ability to research what we don’t know or can’t observe. I believe having those abilities can definitely supply the lack of experience. If someone who wants to write just starts writing using their ability to observe and their imagination, the experience will come with time.

What do you think a writer could do with this picture? If it was me, I could do a lot.

2883244017_8bffbd16fa_b%20-%20TheMarque

