I was going to write a book review this afternoon of an anthology of short stories I had recently finished reading. But, ask me if I can find said book now. No, the book is nowhere to be found. If I find it, I will eventually write said review, but since I can’t, the writing topic is changed. To what, you ask?

Well, this morning I worked in my church’s Vacation Bible School. I helped in the kitchen making sure that the children got snacks and drinks. Because of this, I didn’t get to see a whole lot of what they were doing until the very end when I walked in the auditorium. First, you have to understand it’s been a long time since I’ve worked in a VBS, and it’s been a long time since my children have been young enough to be in a VBS. With them being thirteen and sixteen years old now, they’ve exited that stage and entered the stage of adolescence. I say all that to say it’s just been a long time since I’ve spent time with younger children, and I realized something today. Young children don’t care who’s watching them. They have a lot of joy in living and demonstrate that to those around them. They dance and sing and laugh and giggle and jump up and down. When did we, who are adults, lose that? Probably when we started caring about what other people thought of us.  I think I’m going to spend the rest of the afternoon remembering how to have joy in my life.

Until next time, be real!

