With the conspicuous consumption that is part of our society today, it is harder and harder to be grateful for what we do have. It seems that we are always chasing after the latest version of the newest technological fad. And combined with the consumption is an attitude of worry about how we are going to pay for it.

God does not want that for us. He wants us to be grateful, to be grateful for what He has given to us. Keeping an attitude of gratitude also lessens the worry in our lives, replacing it with a feeling of peace. I had never understood how all the things in Scripture are intertwined until now. Here are a few examples of Bible verses that talk about this.

John 14:27-“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

Colossians 3:15-16 – “Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts.”

Psalm 147:7 – “Sing to the Lord with grateful praise; make music to our God on the harp.”

Am I saying this is an easy thing to do? Most certainly not. We are all immersed in the culture that gives us these messages, and it’s hard to change our focus to where it should be which, for Christians, should be on God. I remember going on mission trips when I was in college. Being in places where the people had much less money than me was always an eye opener. And these places were in the United States. I’ve been told that mission work in international destinations would be even more of an eye opener.

So, how do we foster gratitude? Well, for me, it’s a matter of doing several things like lessening the messages that encourage me to consume, meditating on what God has to say to me about being grateful, and seeking out opportunities to help others less fortunate than I am.

Hope everyone has a wonderful day!

