I read someone’s Facebook status earlier this morning where the person was lamenting not having seen certain television shows in a while, but then said one of the reasons he had not done so was because he had been working on a couple of stories. He then said something that was totally telling for me and something I know I need to remember. “You can’t always consume and create at the same time.”

I think that’s a telling statement on our entire society. A lot of people spend their lives consuming various forms of media (television, computer) and don’t take the time to create the things they are capable of creating. It’s always, ‘I have to get home so I can watch this television show.’ or ‘The news is on. Don’t bother me right now.’ Things like Facebook and Twitter have also become distractions and an excuse for not creating.

What can be done with the distractions? I think it’s a conscious choice you have to make. You have to say, “I want to get out there and live life and not let your life control you.”  For me, I want to be a part of the solution instead of a part of the problem. So, the next time I complain about not having enough time to write I will look in the mirror as I think of the reasons why that is the case.

 

 

