I found the sequel to E.C. Myers’ Fair Coin in the library a few weeks back and checked it out because I was curious to find out what had happened to the characters he had established so well in Fair Coin.

It is a year later. Ephraim has gone back to his home universe and has gotten together with Jena. They are getting ready for prom, and he thinks everything is normal. Not so. In the middle of prom, Jena’s analog Zoe shows up from her universe and tells Ephraim there’s a problem with the multiverse. This starts the next phase of Myers’ story, and it’s a doozy.

I enjoyed this book as much as I enjoyed Fair Coin. The world Myers created is even more complex and layered, but is still not difficult to understand. The characters are even more engaging, and he does a good job of keeping track who is who during the story, made more difficult, I think, by all of the analogs of the main characters speaking. I was very impressed.  I don’t know if Myers is planning on writing anymore stories in this universe, but I would read them if he did. I will also keep an eye out for anything else he might write.

Great job!

