I truly did not get the reasons that writing worked for me and my personality so well until the other day. I’ve been using a journal to work through some things and managed to fill it in just over a month. I read this quote in my writing inspiration book by Jonathan Franzen.

“The place of stillness that you have to go to write, but also to read seriously, is the point where you can actually make responsible decisions, where you can actually engage productively with an otherwise scary and unmanageable world.”

Ding, ding, ding! Wow! A light bulb came on in my head when I read that statement. This is what writing does for me–whether I’m writing stories or whether I’m writing in my journal. It doesn’t matter. Putting words together helps me make sense of the world and my place in it. I believe the same is also true of my older son who is starting to follow in my footsteps.

For those of you who don’t write, remember to give the writers in your life that place of stillness. You might be surprised at what they come up with.

Until next time, be real!

