Last night was a beautiful night for baseball–unlike many of the nights lately where it has been either cold or raining. I had the privilege of watching the sunset during the game–a multitude of colors across the sky, and I just marveled at God’s creation.

There are so many lessons to be learned from sports. From enjoying being outside to forming relationships to practicing good sportsmanship. Of course, winning is nice too. And that is where society unfortunately puts its emphasis today with the professional athletes that make millions and millions of dollars and then excuses said athletes’ behavior when it is bad. No wonder, you have teenagers emulating such behavior.

This is what I saw last night at the ballpark though. I saw a group of boys who were excited to have their teammate back after he had been hurt a few weeks previously. I also saw boys who were trying their hardest and cooperating with each other. Just what a team is supposed to do. Maybe if some of these professional athletes would come and watch the boys I watched, they would understand better how important it is to be a good role model. One can only hope.

Until next time, be real!

