I am plodding through my pile of books at a slow and steady rate. The one I have just finished, The Cassandra Project by Jack McDevitt and Mike Resnick, is one I received as a Christmas present. I had to go dig it out of my older son’s room as a matter of fact because he had also expressed an interest in reading it.

Anyway, on to the review. This is one of my favorite kinds of books–a thriller with science fiction elements. It begins fifty years after the first moon landing where lack of interest in space exploration and budget cuts have affected the mission of NASA. Then, a secret is revealed about the first moon landing which takes the protagonists on a journey for the reasons behind said secret and how it affects them and the entire planet.

I give this book five stars! This is a tightly woven adventure that keeps you guessing until the final page and interweaves elements that you would totally not suspect. You get a sense of how things might have been back in that tumultuous time and how the present day characters in the book want to keep reaching for the stars. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in either genre.

