Blogging from the Ballpark

When I was watching my son’s team play last night, I thought about how far they had come since last season when they only won one game. The boys have grown; they have worked hard at refining their talent; and they are finally at a point where it is starting to pay off with winning their games. The final score last night was 16 – 4.

Winning a baseball game though or even being successful in the writing world (which most see as getting published) comes with other responsibilities like making sure you remember the people who are coming behind you and not treat them badly just because you have been successful. This is demonstrated in the youth sports arena by having the boys shake hands after the game is completed. It is also important that the adults in these boys’, or girls’ lives for that matter, model the correct behavior. We have felt fortunate so far that the coaches who have entered our sons’ lives have been the kind of role models that we have wanted them to have.

All of this reminds me of a verse from the Bible about how we are to treat others. From Matthew 7:12 in the New Testament: “Do to others whatever you would like them to do to you. This is the essence of all that is taught in the law and the prophets.”  Most of us, even if we don’t claim the Christian faith, know this as the Golden Rule. This makes sense to me and is a part of the lessons I am trying to impart to my children. I wish there were more people who would keep this in mind and not be solely focused on themselves.

Until next time, be real!

 

