Here is one of the definitions of flexibility from the freedictionary.com.

“responsive to change, adaptable”

And what would be a definition of ‘giving grace’, you ask. Well, for me, it would be to keep a good attitude about a particular situation even if it doesn’t fit into my perceived notions of how it should be handled. I also liken it to giving the benefit of the doubt if I don’t know something for sure.

I would then ask the question though. Why is that so hard to do?  I ran into this particular situation the other day, and I made several comments to my husband that, shall I say, were less than tolerant. Let me back up though. For the last few years, we’ve dealt mainly with older kids’ activities as our children are now 13 and 16. There just hasn’t been a whole lot of call for us to be around or deal with kids any younger than that. Because of this, our younger son has not spent a lot of time with kids his age or younger. So, when we got a baseball email saying that certain things were going to happen that I considered more appropriate for younger children, I’m ashamed to say that I rolled my eyes and said things I was not proud of . I also asked my husband whether he thought the work ethic for my younger son’s team was different from the work ethic for my older son’s team, and he said yes. Both of us expressed frustration with this and talked about how we wished he could play for older son’s team.

With that being said, I thought some more about it and realized, of course, the work ethic is different. One group of boys is fifteen and older while the second group is only thirteen. The thirteen year olds still have life lessons to learn that the older boys have already learned. What I should have done  and what I will try to remember in the future is to explain this to our younger son and to help him learn how to be an example to those who are not rising to their potential essentially… to be flexible and to give grace.

Until next time, be real!

