As promised, here is my first blog entry from the ballpark. On the first day of the season, everyone is equal. There are no wins and no losses. There is just anticipation for what the season is going to bring, and the chance to play a game that, at least for my sons, is a game they love and are passionate about. Yes, of course, they want to win as I know every other player does, but this first day of play is a chance to reflect, a chance to think about why they are playing the game.

For parents who are supporting their children, I believe it is also necessary to reflect on what lessons we are hoping our kids are learning from participating in team sports.  If we are in this just to have them win and not for the love of the game, I believe we need to ask ourselves what exactly is the point.

Until next time, be real!

