I’m still working on this one. Finding my own voice and figuring out the things I want to say, the things that are important to me. It’s easy to look at other writers and say to yourself, ‘Well, they’ve been successful.  Maybe I should copy their style and then I’ll be successful too. It doesn’t work that way though. When you put the deepest and most honest part of you on display through your writing, your style will come through, and you will touch people. That’s my goal with my writing–to touch people, so, if I only touch one, I will have succeeded.

I like what Gore Vidal had to say about this.

“Style is knowing who you are, what you want to say, and not giving a damn.”

 

I would add something to the end of this along the lines of ‘what other people think’.  There will always be people who don’t like what you write or what you do, but the chance to just touch one is what makes it worth it for me.

Here’s to touching one person today.

Until next time, be real!

