When I first started this blog, I wasn’t going to do a whole lot of these kind of posts, but have been convicted to do it today. In case I haven’t said it before, I am a Christian, and my faith means a great deal to me. Now, if you have seen or heard debates in the general press, you would assume that I’m going to rant and rave about something that I perceive or think of as a sin. That would be the furthest thing from the truth. I posted something along these lines on another site in response to a debate they were having and thought I would share it here.

“Every single one of us sins even those of us who are Christians. We have recently gotten back into church after several years, and one of the main things that led my husband to want to join is how the pastor of this church relates to all of us. This pastor and his wife are the first people in church leadership that we have EVER been friends with. They acknowledge the fact they are sinners and do NOT hold themselves higher than the rest of us.

Also, there are people who are Christians who condemn anything different from them. Now, before anyone reads anything into this statement, let me explain. I have had some medical issues which have recently resulted in a diagnosis which will involve medication for me. It’s not a disease people are comfortable discussing. In fact, I have even had someone tell me that I didn’t love Jesus enough because I have this problem. Nice, huh? We can talk about people having cancer or heart disease, and no one bats an eye, but if people talk about the problem I have, they are condemned and told they don’t love Jesus enough. I think we all need to be careful how we talk about each other as human beings. I am not saying that people who want these changes don’t have an agenda. I am saying they need to see Christ’s love. I really believe that if we, as Christians, did a better job of that, our country would not be in the shape its in today.”

My goal in writing (for this blog and in my stories) is to always remember this simple fact.

Until next time, be real!

