When I write, I sometimes feel like I have dived into the deep end of the pool, going in as deep as I can to reflect as many emotions as I can. But, I eventually do come up for air. When I’ve been successful, I feel invigorated and ready to take on the world. Of course, digging for emotions like that can also tire me out. I like this quote by Mary Karr.

“Writing it often wrings me out like a string mop. Some afternoons after I close my notebook–I’m working longhand–I just conk out on the floor of my study like a cross-country trucker.”

I can definitely relate to this. For me, writing is one of the most satisfying but also, at the same time, one of the most tiring things I have ever done. You need to dig deep to be able to write things that will impact other people.  It’s not popular though to look deep inside yourself. I think that’s because some people are afraid of what they might see. I’m working on defeating that impulse through my writing.  So my plan is to keep on diving and coming up for air.

Until next time, be real!

