Learning, thinking, dreaming–these are some of the things I’m doing every day, and I believe they’re helping me to become a better writer. Even when I’m writing fiction, my life and experiences are a part of the world I create, the characters I write about, and the experiences those characters go through. I found two quotes that reflect this much better than I could.

The first is by William Faulkner.

“A writer needs three things: experience, observation, and imagination, any two of which, at times, any one of which, can supply the lack of the others.”

The second quote is by John Jerome.

“Writing, I think, is a kind of debriefing….There’s a great deal more experience in our lives than we ever succeed in knowing. Writing is an attempt to acquire more of it.”

For me, the last quote is especially telling. I have read many authors’ works where the characters and the worlds were so elaborate I thought there would be no possible way for me to create that kind of setting. I realize now they were bringing their experience and knowledge to their world and their characters, and I can do the same with the worlds and the characters I create.

Until next time, be real!

