The quote in my writing inspiration book was apropos for me this morning even though the title of the reading isn’t a part of my writing experience since I’m not writing while I’m being drooled upon. First, the quote by M.F.K. Fisher.

“Of course it I were a real writer, predestined, dedicated, I’d work in the face of everything…But as it is now I feel almost hysterical at the thought of concentration on one thing. I am never without interruption.”

This quote was related to the reading which talked about a mom with young children and pets who was trying to write too. I don’t have young children anymore, but sometimes I feel the last part of the quote deep in my bones. With all the roles I have in my life, time to concentrate on just one is always at a premium. I know it’s important to be able to work through interruptions like I’ve talked about before, but that has required focus I haven’t had in the last few weeks. So, since I haven’t had focus, I’ve decided to adopt stubbornness. My writing time is a part of me just like the rest of the parts, and I have to nurture it just like I nurture the other parts.

Until next time, be real!

