At the end of last summer, I was inspired, and not in a good way, to start walking every morning before the sun rose. Now, you’re probably asking what inspired me. Well, it was that number on a scale so to speak. It was not where I wanted it to be, and I decided I needed to do something about it. Since then, I have missed very few days of doing this, mainly when it’s been raining or very cold. And I can feel it when I miss it, physically and mentally.

What does that have to do with writing, you ask? My new habit for physical fitness has become relatively automatic for me. My alarm clock goes off. I get up, put on sweat pants, t-shirt, and sweatshirt, stretch out, and go on my walk. The only allowance I give myself is to start this routine thirty minutes later on the weekends. This type of automatic habit is something I am working on transferring to my writing. I’ve done pretty good with this blog so far. My goal on New Year’s Day was to write something in it on every weekday, and I have. What I need to add-on to this is working consistently on my other projects. I do feel some of the same things when I miss writing that are similar to when I miss walking. I just need to amp it up. As my friend who passed away a few weeks ago would say, I guess I need to #crushit.

Until next time, be real!

