As a novice writer, I’ve read all kinds of things about what I’m supposed to do. From making sure all my basic grammar is correct to making sure my point of view stays the same throughout my story to finding my own voice. It doesn’t help that there are also other people who say to look at successful writers and the elements they use and ‘copy’ those elements in your own work. Now, what the heck does that mean? I did figure out what one thing last night though. Through the miracle of technology, I was able to watch a friend’s funeral, and a quote was read at the funeral that sums up some of the thoughts I was having about my voice.

Said by Chris Brogan

“What I came to realize about fitting in is that I really don’t want to fit in. I want to be loved. I want to be appreciated. I want to do things that are useful to others.   But fitting in, as a requirement, isn’t on the list.”

Now, you might think by that quote that I’m expecting to be adored by everyone who reads my writing. Not so. Everyone has their own preferences. What I realized from that quote is that I need to be the best wife, mother, teacher, and writer that I can possibly be. And I don’t need to worry about being like someone else. We all have our own things to say, and each thing, each story is equally valuable.

Until next time, be real!

