As we all know, writing is, for the most part, a solitary occupation. Anyone who wants to write either sits at their computer and types or uses a notebook and writes in longhand. To have success in writing though, I believe it is important to have contact with other writers as well as have people willing to read what you write and be honest in their opinions of it. I have managed in this past year to accomplish both through the contacts I made at the festival I went to and on the Internet and through the writing club I’m a part of. It’s nice to have people who get it and are willing to answer questions you have about the craft of writing. It’s also nice to have people willing to read what you have written. I am about to start editing the novel I completed in November and am looking forward to having additional input when it is finished. It can be scary though to put your writing out in the open because honest input can be a hard thing to take. Nevertheless, it is an important part to making your writing better and an important part of the process. I hope all of you who write have at least one person you can talk to about your writing. It’s been the best thing in the world for me.

Until next time, be real!

 

