The media says there are plenty of reasons to be pessimistic right now from the state of things in the world to the state of the American economy to the political fighting in Washington. I wouldn’t be telling the truth if I said I hadn’t been concerned about some of these things. But today, I refuse to let it overwhelm my thoughts anymore. I pledge to make a difference in my community by helping one person, by helping one family with whatever I can do even if it is just a smile to brighten their day. I’ve been told that I have the gift of encouragement, and I want to live in that way. I really think if more people did that, the world would be a better place. But, I can’t control what others do. I can just control what I do.

I want my writing to be the same way–an opportunity to escape from the world for a while–and then when you come back, you’ve been encouraged in some form or fashion. Thanks to everyone who has left a comment since I’ve started a blog. They have all been tremendously encouraging to me. And even if you haven’t left a comment and just come to read, it has encouraged me too. I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

Until next time, be real!

