This has been going around the writing community for a while, and I’ve read a number of authors’ posts about what they’re working on. They all sound wonderful. Before I start with mine, I would like to thank MarinaSofia for encouraging everyone who hasn’t done it yet to take up the challenge.

And now, the next big thing.

1) What is the working title of your book? 

Finding Your Heart — My main characters’ world is changed forever with the revelations in the first chapter and the loss of their familiar environment, but they realize they have each other through it all.

2) Where did the idea come from for the book? 

I’ve always been fascinated with the dynamic of a guy and a girl being best friends. My book explores the reasons they are best friends and what actually brings them together. (romantically)

3) What genre does your book fall under?

romantic thriller

4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

I have specific looks in mind for my two main characters. For Karinna, either Bella Thorne or Ariana Grande would work well. I also have recently seen the cover of a book where the character’s red hair reminded me of what I envisioned for Karinna. The book is The Creative Fire by Brenda Cooper, and the artwork was done by John Picacio. I’m just about finished reading it, and I can wholeheartedly recommend it.

For Eric, this one was tougher. Just hard to find a look I liked. I’m going to say either a younger version of Chris Pine or Robbie Amell who is more the age I’m thinking about.

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? 

When Karinna and Eric are kidnapped from Karinna’s high school prom, the revelations revealed about their backgrounds rock their world to the core and send them on the adventure of a lifetime.

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Once the editing is done, I would like to try the standard route of querying agents first. If I am fortunate enough to find an agent, I will have them try and sell it to a traditional publisher.

7) How long did it take you the write the first draft of the manuscript?

It took almost a year. I started it at the beginning of 2012 and got distracted with other writing projects. When NaNoWriMo came around, I decided that I really wanted to have a complete original manuscript and took November to focus on this one, and I finished it!!

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? 

I don’t know of any other books that have all the same elements my book has—romance, science fiction, and thriller. I do enjoy reading books in all of these genres though and consider my book to be a combination of elements of several books.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My husband inspired me to write it. Ever since I began writing again, he has always encouraged me and told me to reach for the stars. Since our boys are almost done with school, I am looking towards the next phase of my life, and I’m planning on writing to be a big part of it.

10) What else about the book might be pique the reader’s interest? 

It has elements about the future and also shows the main characters hiding out on a ranch in the western United States. The suspense about what will happen to them goes all the way to the end, and it is unexpected, to say the least.

That’s all the questions. I’m not going to tag anyone specifically, but if you are a writer and haven’t done this, it’s a good way to think about your book out loud. Let me know if you decide to do so, and I will come and visit.

Until next time, be real!

