Being disciplined about doing something is one of the toughest things to do nowadays. There are so many distractions in our society. In fact, yesterday on my Twitter feed, someone was tweeting through a budget meeting at his place of employment. When I saw the first tweet, I was like, wow, he must really be bored. But, that’s neither here nor there. I just used that as an example of a distraction.

My level of discipline has gone up over the last several months, and it’s only because I’ve gotten up and done the same thing at the same time each day. It’s worked well for my physical fitness, and it’s working for my writing too.  Now, my title says discipline leads to success, and I believe it does, but what I’ve needed to do is define what success means for me. For physical fitness, it means that I’m healthier and able to do more than I could before. A side benefit has been that my clothes fit better, and I’ve lost inches, but that’s not the main thing I wanted. So, I’ve met my physical fitness goals.

With my writing, my main goal has been to become a better writer. I’ve accomplished this by writing something every day whether it be in this blog or for my writing course or on one of my myriad stories I’ve been working on. Of course, I would like to be eventually published, but my goal right now and what I consider to be a success is just to write.

Thinking about what’s important to you, whatever that might be, and then using discipline to move forward with accomplishing it, is the best way to be successful with anything.

Until next time, be real!

