Seventy-one years ago today, the Japanese bombed Pearl Harbor, Hawaii bringing the United States into World War Two. Not only does it have historical significance, it also has personal significance for me in that it is my birthday. I think though, what I like most is what happened the following day seventy-one years ago. The day that the United States came together as a nation to fight. There were no statements of who was better than one another. There were no endless debates. There was just the simple knowledge that we had been attacked and that we needed to come together to fight. What has happened to that sentiment? Why can’t we work together to solve our problems? I think those of us who are parents would probably be in agreement that we would all like to leave a better world for our children.

I will leave you now as I contemplate the sacrifices that were made and how I want them to be remembered in the future by my children and by my children’s children.

Until next time, be real!

