Ever since I began writing again, I have paid more attention to how the language of anything I read fits together. It’s a unique perspective that I know not everyone shares.  For my development as a writer though, it is something I need to do. Not only do I gain knowledge of the kinds of language that work in my own writing, I need to remember why I write in the first place, and I can accomplish that by reading as much as I can. It’s exciting for me to see a good piece of writing and more enjoyable, I believe, because I can appreciate the amount of work it took to get to that point.

Books are as necessary to me as breathing. They inspire me; they entertain me; and they help me with my own writing. They help us all go to worlds we could never go to in real life and have the opportunity to bring people together if we let them.

I leave you with these thoughts by writer Susan Sontag. “Reading usually precedes writing. And the impulse to write is almost always fired by reading. Reading, the love of reading, is what makes you dream of becoming a writer.”  This was most certainly the case with me.

Until next time, be real!

