I was having a hard time deciding what to write on this morning until I saw this quote by Joseph Adcroft on my Twitter feed.

” Tell me and I will forget. Show me and I will remember. Involve me and I will understand.”

And I realized it was the perfect thing to start with and to think about. I’m sure all of us remember when we learned about nouns and verbs in school, when we learned how to write a sentence or a paragraph, and when we learned how to write different types of essays and papers in high school and college. Once the teacher talked about it though, did we know how to do it? Could we do it perfectly the first time out? Of course not. After we learned about it, there was always some kind of written assignment to practice what we had been taught. It usually works this way with anything in life. We learn about it by hearing it, by seeing it, and then by doing it. So, for me today, the most important thing to remember is: to get better at writing involves sitting down and actually writing.

 

Until next time, be real!

