This challenge is starting to remind of the times I did NaNoWriMo in 2010 and 2011. For a whole month, I was able to stick with something and actually finish it out even with the turmoil I had going on at the time. I have finally decided to do that in my writing during the entire year, and the schedule I set up this past weekend should assist me in that endeavor.

Now, onto what the challenge is. Today, Jeff Goins wants us to share someone else’s work and not to tell them–like giving a gift. Since I have particiapted in the writers’ track of a festival very recently, I have several good candidates, but first let me tell you about my experience at the festival. It was the first year of Alabama’s Phoenix Festival, and as in all first years, the attendance was fairly moderate. (People were estimating 1500 by Sunday morning.) What that did for me though was enable me to be up close and personal with some great writers who were also fairly decent people. There were a few of us that hung out around the writers’ table, and I don’t know the last time I laughed and had so much fun talking about things that I was passionate about. I even had a writer/publisher take the time to help me refine what genre I was working in. (Allan Gilbreath)  Since I had been confused up to that point, that was tremendously helpful. He and another lady also helped me document my experience at the festival with my phone camera since I had come by myself.

In the weeks since the festival, I have finished one of the authors’ books, and my son is working on another book. First, the book that I have finished was called Burnout by Stephanie Osborn. It would be classified in the realm of hard science fiction, and I was unable to put it down. She worked for NASA for twenty years in the mission control field and helped to train one of the astronauts who was lost in the 2003 Columbia disaster. I say all that so you would know that she knew what she was talking about. Not only could I not wait to get to the end of the book where the mystery was solved, so to speak, I learned alot about how shuttle missions were conducted and the terms used in such shuttle missions. I would heartily recommend it to anyone who was interested in hard science fiction.

The book that my son is reading is called A Prophecy Forgotten by M.B. Weston. It is the first book of a series called The Elysian Chronicles. Her biography states that she is an award winning fantasy, young adult, and paranormal author. When she stated in one of her panels to think of her writing as having similar qualities to Lord of the Rings, I knew that my son would enjoy it and purchased it for him. He is working on reading it now, and thinks that it is fantastic. (Well, he is 15 and said it was good, but that is actually code for that he really, really liked it.) Of course, the true test will be when he is finished with the book. If he is interested in ordering the second book of the series, I’ll know he really liked it.

Feel free to share any other authors you have come across lately in the comments.

Unti next time, be real!!!!!

